Collision Mask Help

I’m new to GDevelop and I’ve run into something I don’t understand with collision detection in HTML5 games. I created three sprite objects and an event. If the first object (Simon Belmont) is in collision with the second object (green box), a third object (skeleton) is spawned. But when I preview it in a browser, the collision detection seems to occur BEFORE Simon Belmont and the green box actually collide. I’ve edited the hitboxes to be much smaller than the sprites and yet it doesn’t seem to help. If anyone can tell me what I’m doing wrong or if I’ve misunderstood something it would be much appreciated! Screen shots of the edited hitboxes, code, and browser output are provided below. Thanks for taking the time to read this!

Hi,

HTML5 games don’t support sprites custom collisions masks.
A workaround is to use smaller hidden object that will represent the collision mask of the objects.

Ah?! That’s strange because I painstakingly edited the masks for my player and my rock so that the rock wouldn’t move unless it looked like the bunny’s hands were on it and it works.

Here I had to unmask his foot otherwise the rock followed him if he turned round.

FlamingBagOfJoy I think you should be using the Sprite collision (pixel perfect) condition instead of the Object collision condition. But then again I’m no expert so I may be wrong.

Thanks victor and annemb for the replies! I’ll experiment with both pixel perfect detection and creating objects to act as hitboxes and see what feels best. Many thanks again for the prompt reponse and useful advice! :slight_smile:

I’m not really sure I understood, why you need sprite collision in this case.

The example so far look like you are searching a 2d solution for a 1d task.