How to make a NPC and make him request food

USING THE 3D EXTENSION “WithThreeJS”.

Hi, I’m new to game development and right now I’m trying to make a “Fast Food Simulator” where the player can move trough a fast food and he has to cook and bring the people (NPCs) the food they want. This is the problem, how do I create the NPCs and make them accept only the food they requested? Like, if the NPC requests for some nuggets, I want to make so they won’t accept fries or other stuff, and I want them to request the food they want randomly from a list I’ll create and make a drawing of the food appear for what they are requesting.

Right now I made all the player movements with the Camera and everything and I also made the fast food map, so the only problems right now are:

• Making the NPCs;
  • Making them request food from a random list of foods;
  • Making a drawing appear of the food they requested;
  • Making them only accept the food they requested and no other food.

Thanks in advance

Hey there,
for most of your question you just need object variables. Inside the sprite-object for your npc (depends on which look your game has (sideview, top-down, isometric, etc.) you can add different variables for the request.
One way would be to use the “structure”-type for each recipe and add variables for the ingredients.
Example:
happy meal (structure-variable)
-cola (boolean-child variable)
-fries (boolean-child variable)
-cheeseburger (boolean-child variable)

Whenever you finish one task you can set the child-boolean of the task (like preparing cola) on true. When all booleans are true you can sucessfully deliver the food. If not the NPCs will get angry and (maybe) leave (or whatever you wanne make him doing).

Now you can create a few recipes this way and let randomize which one will be picked when the NPC enters your restaurant. So you always will have different tasks to handle - even more when it’s possible to prepare additional orders like in “Cook, Serve, Delicious”.