Lack of CONTRIBUTING.md

I found that there is no CONTRIBUTING.md in the Github repo of GDevelop can I add it ?

1. Why?
  2. Like in literally any GitHub if you want to do something just do a PR for it, if it’s rejected then no you can’t if it’s merged then good job you did it. No need for a forum post for that.

I am still new to this so I am sorry if I insulted you somehow lol I was just asking and yeah you’re right

not every repo has one of these but it explains for someone like me trying to help contributing with this open source how to do it, if you want a new feature, a bug fix, support, if you want us to start contributing by filing an issue or you ignore them so we should do a pull request first…etc. These will be the things you do.

It would be my 2nd time using forums and things like it
also I am new to Open Source contributing thing so I am just trying things

it’s so nice you replyed to me though thank you so much

Oh, I am sorry you felt like this. I didn’t meant to sound annoyed or something. Your question is legitimate and I answered with an answer and a question, I hope you didn’t see the numbering as a way to say I am insulted, I just use that to structure my answers instead of posting multiple posts. Normally, a CONTRIBUTING.md is used on repos with special rules about contributions, and here it’s just classical old GitHub contributions rules: you fork, clone, modify, push and PR, and potentially do modifications to the PR if 4ian (the repo owner) is not ok with something/spots a bug/the CI tests fails.

1 Like

Oh okay lol thank you. one more thing though I am trying to know more about contributing in Open Source software and things like that and I’m a game developer or at least I’m still learning.

what should I do to get accepted in GSoC for GDevelop it’s my first time and I really wanna work with Game Developers…

I know it’s basics stuff I may already know them too like:
1- solve a bug
2- look for the first good issues and ideas list