Question about server - client communication(s)

Hi there,

Since I’m kinda new with Game Develop I’ve got some questions about server - client communication (and vice versa). I’m sorry if this question has been stated before, but I couldn’t really find a suitable answer by using the search function on this board.

Well, my question is as follows; regarding a small game I’m trying to create.

Within my game ( a space shooter / rpg) the players control a spaceship. During their super important adventures they might encounter some very nasty and hostile enemy ships. In fact, they’re so nasty that they will open fire and swirl around the players until they’ve been taken care of.

The thing that troubles me is:
Is there an easy / fast way to update the position of the enemy crafts in such a way that they show on the exact position for all players (clients)? Even when the enemy ships are moving? (Maybe some sort of automatic update function?)

Or, do I have to declare the position of the enemy ships myself on the server and send those angles and positions to each client? So the clients can adjust the enemies position according to the recieved data.

P.S.

I notice something concerning “automatism” when I want to add/edit events. Is that the key to my problem?

You can add the “Automatic Network Updater” automatism to objects so that their position and angle will be automatically updated. Take a look here : wiki.compilgames.net/doku.php/en … twork_anua

I’ve used this automatism successfully on a small project involving a map with blocks : The blocks were managed by one computer, and their position were sent to the other computer thanks to the “Automatic Network Updater” automatism. However, you’ll have to manually manage creation/destruction of objects.

You my friend,

Just saved my day. Wow, this IS the program I’ve been looking for all these f***in’ years.
:mrgreen: