[Solved] Crouching ok, but stay crouched?

Hi there!
I’m new to GameDev and had a good time on YT learning some cool things of GDev. Now i have soooo many questions, but step by step.

I work with a Player for the Animations (Gunnar) and for now with 2 Hitboxes (Character and Weapon). I managed to get my Gunnar in a crouching position to go under boxes. If he stands, he can´t. Thats ok. But if he is crouching under the boxes and i release the DOWN-Button, he glitches from crouching to standing and back again in a hyperfast loop.

How to avoid this "glitch"loop? I want to check first: If HitboxPoint(Head for example) is in collision with box, stay down Gunnar!

Can you try something like “if the Player’s Y coordinate is higher than the bottom of the box (and possibly also in collision with the box), change the animation to crouching”?

1 Like

I would recommend you try using an FSM (Finite State Machine).

An FSM is basically a system where you define some overall states for your object, and define the conditions for changing states and actions for that state for each state. It is good for you because as each state defines its exit conditions, you can just make the exit conditions for your case a bit more strict.

For this game, you could have 3 states: “idle”, “ducken”, and “laufen”. It would look approximately like this:

As you can see I added for the “ducken” state I added to the exit condition that you have to not be colliding with the Obstacle.

Though, you might not be in collision as you can crouch under them. Ideally, you would use another object as hitbox that has the size of the IDLE animation.

You can also try to change the code this way: