[Solved] New, need help how to add text with collision

Hello everyone. Just recently started using gdevelop. I need some help with a side scroller I have made. I couldn’t find any answers on YouTube or even google regarding this. I am still learning Gdevelop and what I needed help is with setting up something like

When my character collides with different coins it goes away but I want it to replace it with a text for like information. I think it’s cause I’m still learning but surprised there’s nothing like that.

So basically character gets the coin and in that spot some text with some information pops up. Is this possible and if so could someone please walk me through it. A new person would understand. Much love and thanks.

Thank you for your help!

hi. it’s as simple as you wrote it. when your coin is disappear (delete object), in the same event just put the “create object” action for the text object. set it’s position to the coin X and Y coordinate. of course you need to put this lines BEFORE delete the coin object. so in the same event, just above between the actions.

1 Like

Thank you so much for your reply. So far the deleting the object is making sense, do you know what type of X and Y I would need to use?

So you are saying first I put the coordinates of the coin? What if I have multiple i need to do. Do I make it for each individual one? So after I put the coordinates I do create object with text?

Thank you for your help, sorry for the dumb questions, just need this one last thing to finish my game.

position of course. here my example with a fade-out effect:

1 Like

Omg thank you so much for the example. I am going to try it as soon as I’m home from work. Will you be around later today? Just in case I need some guidance. Also where it says: repeat for each object. Is that a condition? Or I just have to do it for each of the coin? Since I do have to make different text for each coin, will do make one for each individual one?