Where to start

I need help. Im a complete newbie to this engine and started using it a couple of weeks ago and I’m really confused. I’ve tried using the plaformer tutorial which helped a little bit but I’m still confused. So, where exactly do I start? :confused:

Welcome to the forum,

personally I read the whole wiki, then I had a look at all the included examples.
Some of them inspired me on how or where to use them, others might become useful later on.

The more you know what GD can do, the better you can think about what you want to create with it.

Ask yourself, “what kind of game do I want to make” - that will help to define “where to start”.

I have some tutorials on how to make games from scratch that you will probably find very helpful.

e.g. 2D shooter: youtube.com/watch?v=0ZW57s2WT1o

Would a top down run and gun much like Commando and Ikari Warriors be doable?

If you are looking for that type of game, you should have a look at the “lazer and zombies” example.

I’m not sure how many users still know about Commando and Ikari Warriors (both were available for the early home computers like the C64), but I think, both games or other games like them can be created in GD.

well I mean that can a newbie like me create something like that?

Yes, it is possible and it is a good project to start with.

I started it but when I use the camera it seems to “lock” on to the character on the Y axis. So basically, When I move up, the camera follows it, which is fine. But when I move down the camera also moves with the character even though he’s not at the bottom of the screen. In simple terms, How would I move the prevent the camera from moving down?

Maybe with the action “Center a camera on an object with limits” ? :slight_smile:

Ehhh… so what do I exactly set it to…

Center it to your player object and then simply put some random numbers into the limits.
Just like playing around.
That way you learn, what exactly the limits mean and how to use them the way you want.