Block Wrecker - (WIP) - Dev Diary

Here I will share my experience with GDevelop. I have zero experience with game dev and I am learning GDev for a few weeks now.

Block Wrecker should be a fun block breaking platformer game. It is still in early stage, but I have some basic mechanics and blocks for now. For now we have:

• Undestructible Terrain blocks
  • Destructible Brick blocks
  • Destructible Gem blocks that give gems, when destroyed
  • Ice blocks that give the character a slippery movement
  • Lava blocks that hurt/kill the player (they are also animated and glow a little :slight_smile: )
  • The destroyable blocks get cracks on every hit and after they are destroyed, the blocks create debris (with physical properties)

The Player can:

• Destroy blocks with front hit
  • Destroy blocks with stomping on top of them
  • Destroy blocks above him with a powerful beam

Next I want to create the key gameplay - the Player would have to find the key (or keys) for him to complete the level. Also may be the first enemy in the game. Plus refining some movements and animations. I would like to make a few more type of blocks - stone, iron, water.

Used software: Blender, Photoshop, Mixamo

Every idea is welcome :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Very nice. Lovie it. Just some random ideas. Use them or don’t. It’s your game not mine.

I kind of expected that single block to fall. Platforms float but maybe ground objects could drop. They could either smash on impact or break the normal way. Maybe single blocks could be draggable/pushable/carried over the players head and be used as stairs.

The blocks could contain powerups or conceal switches, doors or tunnels to a different scene.

What if you could destroy the walls holding back water or lava. They could flow/drain.

Can you tunnel under the water/lava?