Copying or duplicating scenes vs. using external layouts

Hello everyone,

I am a novice Gdevelop 5 user and currently I am learning how to create a game with multi scenes. I found that I can simply copy and paste an existing scene, rename it, edit its objects to create a new scene. This will also copy all the events, conditions and their associated actions. I found this option easier since I only have to change the objects in the new scene to create a new level. Also, any changes to a given scene does not impacts other scenes.

I would like to know what are the pros and cons of using this approach to create levels vs. creating levels using external layouts when most of the events and objects in my levels are similar (except their placements and sprites). Is there any performance or other impact to the overall gaming experience?

I found it little inconvenient to start designing a level all over again with external scenes (since it only copies all the objects in the scene, not their placements and their related events).

Please forgive me for asking this question in the “Open Topic” category as I did not find any other category to ask your opinion.

Thanks

1 Like

Hi!

Since your objects are placed differently in different scenes, then I suppose you’re doing it right.

External layouts are more useful for constant objects such as UI elements, & less so for game scene objects.

Example usage of External Layout for UI (top-right):

For repeated events, you should consider using External Events.

Yes, that’s what I discovered after creating few levels. :slight_smile:

1 Like

The issue here is that if you need to change an event that affects all the scenes, you have to open all the scenes and modify each one. Or if you want to add another object, it has to be added to each scene (unless it’s a global object).

The way around this is to use an external event, and link to that event from each scene. Then it becomes one set of events used across multiple scenes.