GDevelop unable to save large project?

I’ve been working on my game for a few months now and I have been getting an error when trying to save my game. Whenever I try to save my game I get an error saying “Unable to save the project! Please try again later or save the project in another location.” And then after I click ok the editor goes blank and I get an error message saying “This editor encountered a problem. Something wrong happened :frowning: Please backup your game file and save your game to ensure that you don’t lose anything.”. I’m thinking it might have to do with my game having lots of sprites but I’m not too sure, this basically started when I was working on a pixel canvas which over 2,000 pixels with each pixel being a sprite. If anyone can help me solve this that would be great!

1 Like

Hey. Sorry to hear you’re having issues with GDevelop.

I’ve had similar problems with it in the past. The root cause could vary but i’ll ask some rudimentary questions to simplify my explanation.

1. Are you trying to save to the same project file?
  2. Do you have a third party antivirus or malware cleaner with real time shield?
  3. Do you have an integrated (embedded) or dedicated (attached) GPU? How much VRAM? (i.e 4GB, 8GB, etc)
  4. How much RAM do you have?
  5. Do you any other apps aside form GDevelop while working?
  6. If you open the web browser, which one are you using?

I’m asking those questions because IIRC when GDevelop hits a memory limit it can go blank, as you described. But also when the program refuses to save the file it can be either because the file got locked by the operating system (Windows OS, usually), because you could be involuntarily saving on any other location that is not the project folder or because the project file got corrupted in a very specific way where it won’t be allowed to write to it anymore (if any devs read this, yes I’ve had this issue specifically happen to me under windows 10, roughly 4 years ago with GD 5 Beta 65~92)