Going From Unity to GDevelop complete newb - need help

Hi all,

I’ve recently after years casually as a hobbyist learning and practicing C# and unity, I’ve decided after the shenanigans attempted by unity to look at other game engines which is something I’ve never done before.

I didn’t realize there were so many different game engines that had such great features that make making games more convenient even if they don’t have the same overall capabilities as unity.

Anyway to get to the point of my post, I have recently looked at Defold, game maker and very briefly at construct 3 to see which game engine would be best for me for making F2P casual mobile games that can be monetized including in app purchases etc.

I was about to commit to one of these mentioned engines but then someone mentioned Gdevelop which I had never heard of despite researching other engines.

It has definitely intrigued me and looks quite impressive so I would like to know if Gdevelop suits my needs and would appreciate it if someone could share their experiences with using gdevelop over other engines especially if someone has previously come from using unity.

I’ve seen Gdevelop is a none code engine and curious to know how much can it be expanded using javascript.

If Gdevelop can be used for making monetizable mobile games with in app purchases etc.

Thanks

3 Likes

Hello and welcome!

Glad you found the engine, although your other choices aren’t bad (I absolutely love Defold as an engine too)

GDevelop’s first class language is the Event based system (no-code language), but if you want you could build out your logic using Javascript. As far as extending the engine itself, yes definitely JS can allow you to do that.

https://wiki.gdevelop.io/gdevelop5/events/js-code/#javascript-code-events

Yes, although note that there’s no native (maintained by the GDevelop company) in-app purchases support.