Greetings from Michigan!

So I suppose that, as I have been asking questions without formally introducing myself, I should probably do so.

I’m 47, married teacher, with two college-age kids, and residing in Michigan. I have other hobbies and pursuits on the side (music, writing, martial arts, shooting, theology) and while I’m no expert in any of them, I enjoy them and do work to at least be competent in them for the sake of productivity and enjoyment.

As you can probably guess, I was around when the earliest video games hit the market. I can remember seeing Galaxian and Pac-Man in a Pizza Hut not far from where I lived when I was six. I remember vividly my times spent in arcades, and especially at Chuck-E-Cheese’s (back when they REALLY had an arcade). Some of my fondest memories were of getting a few quarters in my pocket and going with my parents to a place that had video games. I didn’t care what the game was: I just wanted to play it.

And I remember when the Atari was just called the VCS before it was the 2600 as well. Yeah… I’ve got snow on the roof :smiley:

So for me this is an honor and a pleasure to 1.) learn to actually create video games instead of simply playing them and 2.) to interact with other likeminded people (most of whom could probably run circles around me in basic programming). Thank you for allowing me to be here and to interact!

3 Likes

Hi @JDeanAuthor,
welcome .What kind of games would you like to realize ?
A tip: you could create games to help your students.

Bye,
J (from Italy)

Hi @jumpingj !

I’m making games of the old-school 1980s variety, as much as I can. I have thought about making games for students, and I might do that after I become more familiar with the process.

Thank you!

1 Like

That’s around my era too :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: