[GSoC 2020] Tile map objects

Hi, GDevelop community!
I am Pradyumn Pottapatri from IIIT Gwalior, MP, India and this will be my first attempt to both GSoC and Open source community. I’m interested in working with the ‘Tilemap objects’ as it is one of the most important aspects of any game engine or IDE. I am a game developer and develop games with Unity for now.

I have a few questions regarding the project:

1. Can I please know who will be the mentor(s) for this project? I have seen some cards on Trello that @blurymind is working on it.
  2. Only Javascript is mentioned as the stack for the project. Can I know whether I need to learn React and other components as I don’t know much about React. I’m familiar with Node and Javascript in general and just have to work on it as I learnt it quite a time ago.
  3. Will my contributions to the community be counted to my candidature after I have submitted the proposal?

(PS: I am sorry that I am contacting this late. Couldn’t find a way how to chat as Discord channel didn’t allow me to send messages)

Thanks, @4ian!

Can I please know who will be the mentor(s) for this project? I have seen some cards on Trello that @blurymind is working on it.

I’ll be mentoring all projects, @blurymind and @bouh will help too.

Only Javascript is mentioned as the stack for the project. Can I know whether I need to learn React and other components as I don’t know much about React. I’m familiar with Node and Javascript in general and just have to work on it as I learnt it quite a time ago.

React is less important for this project.

Will my contributions to the community be counted to my candidature after I have submitted the proposal?

Yes :slight_smile:

Couldn’t find a way how to chat as Discord channel didn’t allow me to send messages

Read the rules shown in the channel :wink:

1 Like

Isn’t blurymind already doing tile maps?