I'm curious where does Gdevelop lands in this

Hello everyone! I’m new to the game developing world and watching tutorials online and game engines comparisons and everything youtube sends my way about gamedev. :grinning:. I came across Defold, which one of the main selling points is how light and fast the games made with it are.

They have in their website a file size comparison between Defold, Unity and Godot. (here I attach it) and it got me curious about, where does Gdevelop lands in this comparison? How light or heavy are the games made with Gdevelop compare to others engine.

Besides the obvious (I know that the size of the game will depend of how big the game is, and the amount of everything you use in it).
Does anybody has any ideas about it?

1 Like

HTML5

ZIP: 254KB
Uncompressed: 812KB

Android

APK: 2.70MB
AAB: 2.62MB
Installed: 9.35MB

iOS

IPA: N/A :(error):

Used a GDevelop empty project 600x800.
Installed APK application size doesn’t include data.
It depends on build tool, ELECTRON packages NPM and CHROMIUM with builds, that’s why EXE it’s 100MB and above.

1 Like

The heck does this stuff even mean?

…an empty project size, so? Does that mean their being compressed differently? packaged differently?

…or better yet, does having less size mean that it has less safety protocols, or just stuff that protect and make your finished project run better in general?

Really wish this kind of comparisons would have some actual context or explanation behind them…

…as a consumer, this just feels like some sort of publicity stunt or snake oil.

1 Like

:man_shrugging: Exactly, I thought about all those things also. But is basically one of their selling points (even though is free) among other things, but speed and light weight of games are one of the main. Anyways it just got me curious about it cause the difference is too much.