Animations stuck at frame 0

Hi, I’m new to GDevelop (but not game maker programs like this) and I need some help figuring out a problem. With a character I’m programming for a platformer game, his animations for “Idle”, “Walking”, and “Jumping” work, but the rest only play one frame, is there any way to fix that problem? I have seen similar issues being discussed here, but I didn’t see any that were actually fixed. Any help would be appreciated.

Hi! Can you provide a screenshot of the issue? ^^;

Do you have any events that stop the animation when the character is not moving, or something of the sort? Sometimes those can end up stopping other animations from playing. Make sure your animation is also set to “Loop” if you want it to loop, as well!
If it’s stuck in frame 0, there’s a big chance it has been paused before it could be played, so you could try using the “Play the animation of Sprite” action and see if it solves the issue!
I hope this helps!

I don’t have any events that stop the animation, the character only has 4 animations currently, but I want to make sure I can get the one that doesn’t work to work so I can do more.
Here’s a screenshot of the current code:

This is for a fangame I’m working on. The animation that isn’t working only has two frames, but I know that it is not changing. I’ve worked on the Clickteam Games Factory 2 prior to this, while it was simpler to animate in that, it did not have problems with playing animation like this.

One thing I noticed is that in the conditions you call the fall animation “Falling”, but in the action where you set the animation you call it just “Fall”. Maybe that has something to do with that? Maybe the conditions aren’t working the way they’re supposed to because of the wrong name?

If it’s not that, I don’t know what else it could be. I don’t see anything else that could be going wrong it.

1 Like