Ask about "Variable"

Hi! I’m totally new to GD and I don’t have any experience in making a game at all (so I need help…)

I was trying to make an enemy move back and forward at a position. I looked up to GD’s tutorial videos and did exactly what they did (and it worked well). But I was curious “what if I remove the “object variable”, will it work the same?”. So I tried it and the answer was no. Here’re my questions:

1. Why the first one works and the second one doesn’t?

2. When I add a behaviour to an object, when should I consider adding “Variable” to something to make it works?
    (I ask this because when I first come to GD, I thought “Variable” is just used for things like health bar or score and nothing else. When I make any action for a specific object, I just simply think about what behavior I’m going to add without thinking of “variable” at all. But this example makes me confused and worried: “what did I miss?”)

Not totally sure but it could be that you haven’t added a number to the y axis and both movements are the same.

this is the code I use to move enemies

Because you are applying an instant force every frame for the first enemy. Whereas for the second enemy you are only applying the instant force when it’s in collision with an arrow button. Instant forces are valid/apply for only the frame they are used.

You could add a permanent force instead of an instant one for the second enemy, that may make if work the same.

You use a variable to keep track of values that can change (i.e they can vary in value). The idea of the variable Direction is to keep track of which way the enemy is heading. And you need a Direction variable for each enemy, as they can be moving in different directions to each other.

1 Like

The event group “Enemy’s movement 2” doesn’t use the direction variable and it doesn’t make my ghost move around, but the “Enemy’s movement 1” does. (you may look closely)