AUTOMATED GHOST MOVEMENT LIKE IN PACMAN

Hi, my name is Michael. I have been working on a game that is similar to pac man…Ive got everything set up except the movement for the “Ghost.” I have tried many different ways to set up this movement but I cant seem to get the “ghost” to navigate the maze. Any Ideas?

Ok so i think the scripts/codes won’t bother me much in the game i’m trying to make but i got a big problem,i’m not very good at making sprites(i tried MS Paint but it didn’t work out so well :frowning:) so is there any free and good Sprite making tools out there,i tried searching it but i can’t find a good one,so anyone here can give me a good sprite making tool ? Thx in advance

On google you can find plenty of good sprite making freeware. However, generally what works for some wont work for others. MS Paint and photoshop have worked well for me. IF your looking for something that will have premade sprites, it doesn’t really exist. At least not something you wont have to pay a crap ton of royalties to. Doing the art yourself or having someone do it for you are your best options.

The IA algorithm for that goes like this:

1. Choose a random direction (up, down, right, left).
  2. Check if the next cell of the grid located in that direction (relative to the current cell) is a wall.
  3. If the cell located in that direction is a wall return to step 1.
  4. If the cell located in that direction is open road then move the ghost to that cell and return to step 2.

That’s the basics, try to implement it.

that’s the algorithm for the pathfinding automatism yes?

No. That’s more similar to the depth-first algorithm than the A* algorithm.

Maybe the “go anywhere if you can” algorithm? :laughing:
From Wikipedia, one of the ghosts works like that (the orange one), taking a walk randomly over the entire map.

But the others follow another rules, a standard ghost AI could be performed through the Pathfinding Automatism, I think :slight_smile: