Button that takes you to different scenes

I’m new to gdevelop, so sorry if the question is too obvious. I’m building an interactive children’s story, in which readers make choices. like a rpg game book. At some point, the same scene in the book, can come back to two different scenes. EX.: Scene 11 has a button, but it can go back to scene 9 or scene 10 if the readers came from scene 9 or scene 10.

Tank you!
[image]

2 Likes

Hi!!! I’m new here too, but your question seems not as complicated as mine, ahah I’ll share my vision of solving this problem, add a global variable and, depending on its value, assign where the transition should be made (well, i.e. to which scene).
p.s. global variables are very useful when it comes to moving data from one scene to another.

1 Like

It reminds me of the “Choose your adventure” books with their “go to page 57 for this or 13 for that”.

As VMakar85 said, you can store details in Global variables depending on the level of interaction and then change the scene and the scene can check the global variable when the scene starts or in connection to other events and make changes should the past actions change the way it’s replayed. The player may now have a key to a locked door or chest.

I love the possibilities. In one scene the player finds a key. You could set a global Boolean named HasKeyToAttic and when you switcth to that scene you could check the value and expand the way the scene plays or add another choice that takes them to a different scene.

Tank you! As I said, I’m in the first steps of Gdevelop
I understand a little of the logic, but I’m having trouble tracing the process step by step

2 Likes

The options are limitless. Here are a few examples.

Edit: You could also use Boolean variable to add buttons or objects that the player can interact with or take the player to another scene.

Scene 9 and scene 10 lead to scene 11. When I click the back button, I need the scene to go back to the origin line.

Like this?