Changing enemy animations....omg

So I’m making an isometric shooter. And I can’t figure out how to make the enemies change direction to the player. I followed the tank tutorial and all it has is some stuff about rotating the tanks.
I don’t want to rotate because it’s not top down, it’s ISOMETRIC!
I want them to change between their 4 animations relative to the players position next to them. Left, right, up, down.!
help|690x361

I’m new to Gdevelop, but maybe you could try storing the player’s coordinates as a variable, and then compare it to the enemies position (Also stored as a variable), then compare the two variables in a condition. Like “EnemyX < PlayerX, and EnemyY < PlayerY, play animation (whatever the animation is)”. Don’t know if that helped but I tried my best : )

1 Like

Hi, did you check the isometric game example? GDevelop 5

if you notice, even in that example the little bat creature following her around doesn’t change his animation.

The core concepts from the various examples all still apply.

If you are not using top down rotation, my best guesses are:

1. you are going to have to set up events to detect the angle of movement (a lot of math involed)

Or

1. You instead just have a “position” object that has all of the movement behaviors and events on it instead of your visual sprite. Then you can leave rotation enabled on that object so you can detect its rotation, then have your visual sprite position updated to the position object each frame, then uodate your visual objects animation based off the position object’s rotation.

or you just go with MisterBread009 suggestion:

3 Likes

the position object is actually how I got my player character to have a moving torso. But when I tried it with enemies it got a little wonky. I’m firing up Gdev now to try out Mr. Bread’s
suggestion.

well it’s almost working. The major problem is that the x animations and the y animations are conflicting with each other.