Changing text by pressing/releasing key

Hello everybody,

I’m a beginner in game creating and in GDevelop. I’m currently working on a small game of my own to learn game development. So far, the tutorials and the forum have helped me a lot (thank you to everyone), but now I encountered a problem that I couldn’t find a solution for.

I have a text object with, of course, some text in it. Since not all of the text fits onto the screen, I want the player to press a key to continue the text passage; I’ve seen this in other games and found it would be great for my little project. I made a key event (in my case pressing the space bar) that should change the old text into the new text, but unfortunately, after releasing the key, the new text jumps back to the old text.

The event looks like this:
Condition: At the beginning of the scene
Action: Do “Text1” to TextObject
Condition: Space key is pressed
Action: Do “Text2” to TextObject

I tried out several things on my own (like releasing the space key), I also looked into the tutorials and in the forum and tried out what I found there, but nothing has worked so far. What can I do so that the new text stays there after pressing and releasing the key?

I hope somebody can help, thank you in advance :slight_smile: .

Something like this seems to work well:

But there are many different ways to do it I’m sure.
Note that space key “released” is used, because this will only change the text once for each space key press + release. I guess the theory is that if the space key is released, it had to be pressed first.

If we just had space key pressed, it would change rapidly to 1,2 while holding the space button.

It should work. Are you sure you don’t change the text anywhere else? If you change the text on key press, it should remain changed even after you release the key unless you change the text again somewhere else.