🙋 Confusion Regarding Pressing Same Key + Event Execution

Good day every one! :two_hearts:

Here is what I would like to accomplish:

Press X key and image becomes visible. Pres X again and image becomes invisible.

I found everything I need in the event section to make it however one problem arose. First of all there is no If_Else statement. So I decided to create a variable to “guard” the image condition while pressing X, however that did not work since other events relating to same key are been executed almost at the same time. I tired to group and to set event under another event, however did not succeed again, once parent event is false it never falls down to child event.

I’m new to the engine and just trying to figure out what it can do on the fly - I probably misunderstood how events been executed or called. How can I resolve this issue? :woman_shrugging:

Thank you for any help, so far I had to do everything in JavaScript code with if_else statement :yum:

Yeah, it’s tricky at first with no if-else type statement. It often needs a different approach to the challenge.

Look at 2 events, each with 3 conditions and 1 action each.

Event 1:

Conditions:
The x key is pressed
Image is visible
Trigger once while true

Action:
Hide image

Event 2:

Conditions:
The x key is pressed
Image is visible (invert this condition)
Trigger once while true

Action:
Show image

1 Like

I think MrMen’s solution won’t work in practice.
Try this
More information about it
https://forum.gdevelop.io/search?q=toggle%20button

Hah, teach me for replying so late at night, I can’t even think straight. The first condition changes the visibility, and the second undoes it because it then becomes true in the same frame. Thanks for spotting that one, Jack

Yes that’s the issue with it :wink: it sends event response to both of them and when it done with first sub event, it deals with second having ALL the needed values for it to successfully meet conditions. :sweat_smile: