Countdown timer & more

I’m very new to game development, so I’m probably over my head here. But I really want to understand how I can have a countdown timer keep running even if the app is closed, can I achieve this with gdevelop? I want to make a game like neko atsume, if you’ve heard of that.

Basically I want random (with set % chance of something happening) events that happen even when the app is closed. So when the player turns it on again, there’s progress from the time elapsed since the last time the game was open.

I’ve asked a couple times on discord and answers were quite vague, albeit helpful and kind. I’ve searched this topic in the greater scope of programming and it looks super complicated, I was trying not to have to learn coding when I installed gdevelop. Any help on this topic would be great, thanks.

Silver-Streak wrote:
You’ll need a timer that runs, an event that tracks the current timestamp once the timer hits 5 minutes or a minute or something, and the file storage events to save the last timestamp upon exit, and reads it when you load the game. Then you would do all your calculations based off the time that has passed…I think?

I wouldn’t call that “quite vague” at all.

1 Like

Okay, well we don’t have to argue about whether it is vague or not.

Do you know if I can get some help with these mentioned suggestions, such as the timer? I cannot find any of these options in either conditions or actions scroll down menus. I’m assuming I would need to add my own code? I have not been able to find the tutorial/ information I need to understand these steps. Thanks.

If you cannot find the timer, you haven’t looked for it, because it’s there, and it’s quite visible, and there’s even a search feature to help you find it.
There’s also a section about timers in the official documentation, and they’re covered by the basic tutorials, which means you haven’t even done that.

@Gruk He is new here, so it may be a little complex for him to understand.