Create a doodle alchemy gamplay mechanic

Hello. I need some help figuring the best solution to a problem i have. It will help if i decribe the game in great detail. Fyi. I have limited coding knowledge and have only worked with game engines like RPG Maker MV dealing with simple variable, switches, else statement made super easy without coding.

I want to imitate the mobile game “Doodle Alchemy’s” selection mechanic to a certain degree. In the game, you simply mix two different elements together to create a new element. You tap a elemental icon, it lights up, and if you tap another working icon, it creates a new element which appears on screen with a growing list of what had been created.

( for my game i simply change the color of my icon from orange to yellow to indicate it has been selected/chosen and when tap/touched again de selected/not chosen).

Example:
I tap the fire icon, it appears to the top left slot as a visual that it has been selected

I then Tap the water icon. It appears on the top right slot as a visual it has been selected as my second element of choice. These two elements of fire and water create a new element called “steam” which is is now added along the list of icon elements of fire,water, earth, etc

But what if i tap the wrong combination? Lets say i tap the fire icon, it appears on the top left screen then i tap on another element that has no working combo like “sky.” The sky icon appears on the top right slot. Fire and sky does not create any new element.

Also if i continue to click a new element, it will replace the second element with the new.

Example: