Enhancing sound design in Gdevelop: Real-Time effects integration

Hi!

I’m a sound designer and developer for video games. Currently, I’m using Gdevelop for an upcoming project, and the audio aspect of my project holds significant importance. I believe that Gdevelop could greatly benefit from incorporating basic effects such as EQ, filters, reverbs, and more. While I can handle most tasks independently, having the ability to adjust these effects in real time would tremendously enhance the software’s value. Do you think it’s feasible to integrate such features into Gdevelop?

Thank you!

1 Like

Would an FMOD integration satisfy your needs? I believe it is the industry standard and although it is proprietary, it is free for indie devs.

There are some things that I do wish that would be in GDevelop, but are not.

1. Ability to load any sound/music file while the game is running, IE for something like a music player or rhythm game. (You either drag and drop file or open file explorer to select said file)

2. ways of creating audio visualizers. Like perhaps “get a volume value of 0 to 1 in the frequency range (Specified by user) from a sound channel (Specified by user)” This can also be very useful for rhythm games.

3. Ability to get extra info out of a sound/music file through metadata. IE album cover image, Title, Artist, Album, Composer etc.

Personally for me I’m fine with how it is so far but I do think these would be great additions.

1 Like

Hope they add all this things

Is it possible to use FMOD with GDevelop? If yes, it would be ideal, I frequently use it in my work, and it would be a significant enhancement for the audio part of GDevelop! Isn’t it possible to integrate such effects natively into the software? (Basic ones like reverbs or EQ?)