[EXAMPLE] Drag camera with the mouse

I needed the feature in my project to drag and move the camera with the mouse as in a strategy game for example.
I experimented with different ideas, but finally I decided to do it the hard way and use some math and since I’m not very good with numbers, it surprised me how well it actually works and I decided to share it as an example in case someone else also need such functionality.

Of course there must be a better and smarter way to do this, feel free to improve it anyway you can and please share it :slight_smile:

Example:
gametemplates.itch.io/template- … with-mouse

1 Like

Here is my version:
CameraDragging.zip (4.06 KB)
Easier to read, but more restricted… the balance of life :neutral_face:

ddabrahim

How can I add limits to the camera in your extension? (in human language please, I’m not a coder)

You can check the position of the center point of the camera on the X and Y axis.
So, what you could do is before moving the camera on the X and the Y axis, add the condition to check if the X and Y position of the camera is within the limits you want to set.

For example if X position of camera is > 0 and < 1600 then move the camera on the X axis…

hi.
I saw an another topic you told this. I tried to do this before I wrote my comment. may be I was successful, but this isn’t work correctly. or I did something wrong. because after the camera reaches the desired limit it stops, and doesn’t ever move again.

so. would you be so kind and show me wich line is exactly the “before moving the camera” , and how it will move again after it stopped once?

You can try to reset the position of the camera when reaches the limit.
For example if X position of camera is <= 0 then Do = 1 to X position of camera.
But depends on how fast you move the camera it may going to cause the camera to shake a little.