EXP Bar needs to scale to fit GUI

Hi guys!

First time here so firstly hi all!

I’ve ran into an issue and hoping somebody can help. Currently I have an EXP bar setup and working when I gain levels, however the area I am trying to have this fill when 100% is 557 Pixels wide.

I have the EXP Bar image scaling on X to match the GlobalVariable(EXP)

Currently this reaches 100 to gain a level which means my EXP bar only gets to 100 before resetting. How else would I be best off doing this and in a way that when my next level required for example 130 EXP this does not break ? I’m likely doing this a really bad way but I’m still learning and have been stuck on this all day!

Hi! If I understand well you want for each level, to have a certain value of EXP needed?

Your condition could be :
If Variable (EXP) >= level[VariableString(currentlevelnum)] [“EXPneeded”]

For each level you have already before set the EXP needed. Playing the game, program record the current level num and so can adapt directly the expneeded for this specific level.

I want to be able to increase the level requirements for each level such as level 1 required 100 exp, level 2 required 130 exp and so on, but to be able to have the exp bar cover the GUI EXP bar from 0 pixels to 557 pixels from 0% EXP to 100% EXP. Hopefully this makes sense.

Currently with my current code when EXP is at 100% The exp bar is 100 pixels long but need this to be 557.

I could alter the GUI to fix this however if level 2 required 130 EXP then when I am at 100% EXP the bar will be 130 pixels long.

Then you have to convert your actual EXP required, let’s call expR, into the visual EXP, let’s call it expV. Keeping the proportion.
You have to express expR over a maximum Exp

expR/maxExp = expV/557

So expV= 557 * expR/maxExp

Does it make sense?

I’ll try this in a bit and hopefully it works :slight_smile: Thanks for the help!

1 Like