Fake 3D Cylinder Shader (Like the one seen in FNAF)

I’m trying to make a FNAF Fangame, and I don’t know how to make an effect like the one seen in Five Nights at Freddy’s. I’m talking about the office effect, where the camera scrolling feels like it’s a 3d game, but it’s actually a static image given a shader to act in that way. FNAF is originally a Clickteam game, so I have no idea how to do that same effect in GDevelop 5. If you know how to do this, then please tell me how. Thanks. (Also, this is my first time here, so I don’t know how things work all that much.)!

You’re probably looking for the Displacement Map layer effect.

2 Likes

Thanks! I’m starting to understand this a little better! I think the displacement layer effect is the way to go. I just don’t have the displacement map to get the effect I want to. (the 3d cylinder effect.)
Do you know where I can get an effect like this one…?

You can make your own on GIMP with the gradient tool.

Thanks! I’m trying that now.

1 Like

Please note the original FNAF had no special cylinder effects done by the game engine. All of the images were prerendered with a parabolic effect in the editing software, then exported as flat images that had the effect baked in.

This may have changed in later games, but is true for FNAF1.

1 Like

I don’t really know but, I’m pretty sure that they were always flat images. They were just ported to Clickteam and had an effect applied to them like you said… I think it’s called “Panorama Perspective” effect. The thing is… the effect was applied through Clickteam, not using an editing software. I was wondering if there was an effect like that in GDevelop 5.

In the first FNAF, this effect

is accurately applied, you can see that distortions occur