How do I Make a Tag-Team Mechanic Like in Donkey Kong Country?

Hi! I’m very new to using this software and finally got the chance my fangame! Basically it’s a Rayman fangame with elements from DKC (such as bonus room minigames, being able to toss your partner to reach higher areas, etc. Now, here’s where people may start scratching heads.

Rayman’s partner in this game is my Rayman character (who is his girlfriend lmao), the two will have to help each other out if they wanna rescue Globox.

Anyways, does anybody know how a tag-team mechanic would work here? Basically in the DKC games, the second Kong always follows behind the Kong in front, copying their every move.

And like in the DKC games, you’re able to swap between Rayman or his girlfriend at any time, kinda like in this GIF.

If anybody is willing to help me, that’d be greatly appreciated!!

Hello, be sure to check out and understand the Platformer Tutorial before exploring more complicated mechanics:
https://wiki.gdevelop.io/gdevelop5/tutorials/platformer/start

If you already understand how to create a platformer game then to create a tag-team mechanic you can create two Platformer objects, for example Donkey and Diddy.
Then create a variable called CurrentPlayer set it to 1. For your Logic 1 will be Donkey, and Two will be Diddy.
Then add some logic that when you press the 1 key change the CurrentPlayer to 1, and when you press the 2 key change the CurrentPlayer to 2.
Do a TriggerOnce Condition for CurrentPlayer = 1 where you disable the platformer behavior on Diddy and enable the platformer behavior on Donkey.
Do a TriggerOnce Condition for CurrentPlayer = 2 where you disable the platformer behavior on Donkey and enable the platformer behavior on Diddy.
You will probably also want to add logic for when “Platformer behavior is disabled” on each to have them follow instead of being left behind.
You will also want to make sure your camera knows which player to follow.

2 Likes