How do i make something like Inkball? (draw on the screen)

Hello there, im doing a game jam for a local competition and i have to use gdevelop for it. My idea currently is to recreate Inkball from the old windows game library, I have made the ball bounce but the only thing stopping me is to draw on the screen and make the ball collide to the line.

I would want to add more content but I have to put the basic mechanics (ball boucning, collisions between assets, line drawing).

I have tried something like Shape Painter but it didnt have the results that I wanted but i could improve from it. I am still a newbie so please be patient with me. Thank you and have a great day.

Hi and welcome here :slight_smile:
You can spawn a small object when cursor is pressed, and that should create the effect you’re looking for.

1 Like

Could you help me with an example? I still need to have the ball to collide with the “draw line”

Well, if you want more realistic physics with rolls, bounces and such, use the Physics behavior on both the ball (dynamic with round mask) and the dots (static).
Check this example:

1 Like

Have a look at the “Marching Squares Platforms Painter” example that comes with GDevelop. It allows you to paint the terrain. You’ll need to play round with the line thickness to get it more like InkBall :

1 Like

Interesting, i never know this works. im going to try to study the code and get back to you very soon.
Also I noticed that you helped a lot of newbies in this forum, I thank you for your work!

Good news! I have made the drawing stuffs, now i have several problems of it.

1. the mouse is offcenter of the circle cursor
  2. there is no collision between the unmasked layer
  3. ive made some smaller brushes, but right now it just have this kind of effect (pic under the ball)

any ideas how to fix? I Just need to make the collision and mouse off center, thanks very much!