How do I make the head bounce around as I move the player? [SOLVED]

Note 1: Please be polite. I didn’t have the best experience the first time I asked a question in the GDevelop community. As a precaution, I kindly ask you to consider that I’m very new to GDevelop and game development as a whole, so I may not know the correct terms. I learn by experimenting rather than using tutorials and only turn to them when I do not know what to do.

Note 2: I had to remake this entire post because of the fact new users can only post one image at a time… I have gifs explaining my problem if it is needed, but if this second rendition is poorly explained, this was because I was already tired from trying to fix the problem alone AND having to create images and texts explaining it.

Note 3: Bolded the text that is important for convenience.

Note 4: Edited unimportant things.

The events:

I tried making a cute bouncing effect as the player’s character walks.

It works well when moving left or right (thanks to the head’s consistent X position), but the up and down movement is a bit off. The head doesn’t stick properly to the body, especially when walking diagonally or vertically.

Whenever I try to make the head follow the body using other events, it messes up the bouncing effect. I think it’s because pulling it towards the body prevents the head from going too far, giving me my current issue.

I hope that makes sense; my understanding of GDevelop is mostly based on guesses…

I’m using the Tween and Top-Down Movement behaviors for both the head and the body. The Top-Down movement was added to the head when my initial attempt didn’t work and I forgot to remove it.

I don’t want to switch to using animations unless GDevelop has a limitation. I want to learn by figuring this out without relying on animations.

Thanks for reading!

Hi @uselessthrowaway

I’ve done something similar in the past and I’ll show you how I managed to make it work.