How do I use a global variable to stop scenes from skipping?

Hi helpful people,

I’m new to GDevelop. I’m creating a quiz game where each question has its own scene (Q1 scene > Q1 feedback scene > Q2 scene > Q2 feedback scene etc…). When the player selects an answer option, I want them to move onto the next scene.

Current problem: when I select an answer option, it skips multiple scenes, taking me straight to the end scene. Oddly, it doesn’t always do this and it can also vary with the number of scenes it skips - sometimes it skips just one or two scenes, but often it skips to the end scene.

I’ve found threads with the same problem. The solution proposed there is to create a global variable that’s set to 1 when the key is pressed, then changes to 0 when the key is released. Then it’s advised to set a condition where the scene changes only when the global variable is 0.

I’ve tried the above solution, but can’t get it to work so must be doing something wrong. I’ve tried various things, but to no avail. In my game, I want it to be a mouse click on an answer option that changes the scene, rather than a key press. I’ve created a global boolean variable called ‘ChangeScene’ that sets to false at the beginning of the scene. Then, when the player releases the mouse click on an answer option, I’ve set the ChangeScene variable to change to true. Then I’ve added a condition to change the scene when ChangeScene is true. This doesn’t work - it doesn’t change the scene at all.

Here’s a screenshot of the events. I have no idea what I’m doing wrong, so any help would be very very much appreciated. Many thanks in advance!

Hey, I’m just a new as you are here, but I would like to take a crack at this problem.

So in my games I don’t change scenes very often at the moment. I literally have a project Scene that shows all the things I am working on and then you click on which project you want to test out and it sends you to that scene or few scenes depending on the project.