How to find a word in a list correctly?

I’ve read this old topic - (Solved) Check if player typed a word correctly (which is in a .txt file containing a word-list)? - #19 by Keith_1357

Still don’t get how to deal with it correctly. I can get a number of word’s position. But how to use it further? For example :

Here i’m checking if a text from a variable “WordGuess” exists in the text list. After i want to add a condition “If the text from the first variable exists in the text list so add this text in a second variable”.

Welcome. What are you trying to make? You can add the variable “WordGuess” to an array and read the list back with a For Each Child event.

While Gdevelop claims to be “no code”. It, like most apps of its kind, requires the knowledge of expressions and basic language concepts. I have no idea on your knowledge level. The wiki, examples and tutorials are good places to start.

GDevelop 5 [GDevelop wiki]

Imagine if you have letter objects on a screen. I made a system that allows to connect these letters adding it to a string variable. For example if a player connect objects W, O, R, D, so a variable “WordGuess” = “WORD”.

I have a long list of words (no matter where it exists : variable/text object/event) . I want a player to connect letter objects on the screen to define a variable “WordGuess”. When a player releases a left button the game should check if a word from “WordGuess” exists in that long list of text. If it exists so this word should be added to any other variable letting me to show it on the screen.

Load your wordlist into a string and compare the Guess word to the list String Variable. Make sure the list begins and ends with whatever the separator character is. (like space, comma or newline) Otherwise you’ll get partial word matches. “ree” would match “green” but " ree " wouldn’t match " green ". Make sure the search word also has the characters. See the post you posted a link to.