How to save a game's world

Hello. I know people have asked this in the past, but please don’t mark it as a duplicate because I need to include my project’s code as it is very specific to what I need to save.

So, I’m making a top-down survival game. Currently, the world generation consists only of trees, 1000 of them randomly placed around the map. I know how to save the player’s location and inventory, but the world saving (tree locations) has not been as easy. Does anyone have an example project or solution? I’m relatively new to develop.

I’ve tried saving the X+Y positions of each of the trees individually, but 2000 entries into the data was too much for my browser and it always triggers a SIGTRAP/SIGILL crash.

I can provide game files and code screenshots if needed.

can you post a screenshot of your load/save events?

Hello,

I’m guessing you tried to save individual entries in the local data? 1000 is a lot of entries.

I did something similar before, this is how:

Add the positions in an array as soon as the objects are created, and save the array as a JSON string. This should save / load 1000 or more objects without any problem.

It’s actually not too hard to do saving, I usually use the UUID extension for making IDs.
I just attach the ID to objects with a variable. (I put the ID in a structure variable), then do the saving events. I use the “For each object” Function. I name the Files the name of the object. then I do “+ Object.Variable(Save.ID)” so all the files are separated. then when loading use the “For each Object” function again. then use the loading events, then for the filepath shouldent be too hard. Its hard to explain though, if you want a picture showing events, feel free to ask me.

I’ve tried doing this, but it just won’t save even to the variable.

Can you post a screenshot of your events?

In the load section, I think you need to convert it back from Json. This uses a scene string variable called tempJSON

1 Like

Here’s a project I made.