Identifying a randomly selected object to use in condition

Hello everyone,

Whether you use an action to ‘Pick a Random Object’ or use an array to pick a random child (I’m new to this, sounds sketchy AF when I see this, still, lol), what expression do you write in the conditions under that so the actions will only impact this selected object?

Say I have 10 NPCs, put their objects in a group, write an action to pick a lucky one at random, then is there a ‘Picked_Array.Child(NPC)’ I could put in condition to only apply actions to this character? Then perhaps, at the end of all this group event, delete that selection so the list is back to being available?

The way i’ve been doing things so far (I started using GD like a week ago so I’m really unsure about most things here) is to trigger once a Pick random object, give it a boolean value and stay in sub-events so it’s kinda different from the rest of the group, not sure it’s the best way to go about it. Here’s what I came up with:

I’m a solid 90% sure there is a much more efficient and clever way to do this but I must confess that when it finally worked, I was overjoyed. First problem solved, thanks GD!

Hope it’s clear, at least.
Thank you for your help!
Maxime

I’m not sure what your code is doing, but upon picking an object, your code in any subevents and any below events (unless specified otherwise) will only act on that object, unless its target is another object type. Ask for more clarification if needed. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

You seem to have an understanding of the concept. Conditions work like filters. Without any conditions the pick a random object would pick from all of the instances or objects. You can reduce the choices by using any of the conditions like object variables or animations or location or any number of conditions. Each condition would further filter the pick list.