Issue with 8 direction isometric sprite animations

Firstly I’ll say that I’m an artist and not a programmer, so even with a minimal programming development tool like GDevelop I’m a beginner. I apologise for any stupid questions ahead of time.

I have just started a game by first setting up the movements for the player character. I’ve got the 8 directional movement working, and I’ve even got the correct animation playing when movement happens in any given direction.

I don’t know if my logic setup is okay or if it could be improved, but it mostly works. The only thing that doesn’t work is that when I travel diagonally in any direction, the animation usually changes to one of the 4 cardinal directions when I release the keyboard keys.

I don’t have idle animations for all 8 directions (I might consider it, but for now I don’t) so my solution is to the tell the game to set the frame of the currently playing animation to frame 1 and keep it as that still frame until movement happens again. As mentioned, the up, down, left, and right animations stop correctly, but the diagonal ones often don’t. And to make it even more confusing, they sometimes work, but often don’t.

Here are some screenshots of everything I have so far, and a gif of me previewing two movement directions to show the difference.

https://imgur.com/a/1yRiFL0

Let me know if I should add anything else to better communicate the problem, and thank you so much in advance for any help!

I think the issue is that it’s difficult to release 2 keys at the exact same time. So, if you release [up] and [left] then it’s likely on the next frame either [up] or [left] will still be pressed and the animation will be changed.

Unfortunately, I don’t have a fix. But I’m sure some else will. This at least gives you and others a starting point.

That’s really clever, I would not be surprised at all if that was the issue! It would explain why the animations sometimes work correctly and sometimes don’t.