Make background same for all levels after user picks one

I am new to GDevelop. I am trying to make simple game for my kids to practice their spelling words. I want my kids to pick the background. Then I want their choice to be the background for each of the following scenes(10 scenes). I have included a screenshot. I don’t know how to get their choice to go to the next scene.

1 Like

:open_mouth:

Here’s the solution:

Upon the user making the choice of background, you want the name of the background object they chose to be stored in a Global Variable. Global Variables are relatable to the whole game rather than just the current scene. Name one “BG” or whatever you desire. When a background is set, Store it’s name in the global variable

Then, upon moving to another scene, you should create an event at the beginning that starts with this condition:
“At the beginning of the scene”

Then, in actions, add this:

Create object “GlobalVariableString(BG)” and there you have it :slight_smile:
Good luck on this program!

(Note: make sure those background objects also exist in the new scene)

No, that won’t work, but it’s along the right lines. Create object requires the object reference, not a string.

@DesignerMoo, firstly, don’t make a copy of your backgrounds in each scene. Making them global objects is a much better way, and they’ll be available in all your scenes. Also, this way means any changes you make to a global object will be reflected in all the scenes (so you don’t have to make the change to every copy in every scene) :

Secondly, to create the background images by name in different scenes, you’ll need to use a global object group :

1. In the editor, open the Object Groups panel and click on Add a new group and call it BackgroundGroup :

2. Make the group global - click the 3 vertical dots of the new group, and select Set as global group. This will ensure it’s available for all scenes.