(match-3-game) How to get coordinates of object instance and move object instance by coordinates?

Hello there!

I’m new to gdevelop and thought as a first project to learn it I would create a Match-3-Game like Candy Crush or the countless others of the genre.

Anyway what I have so far: I’ve got a group with 5 objects (the different gems) and I managed to make a 5x5 grid of those objects mixed randomly - Probably it will be a bigger playing field in the end (like 10x10 or something), but for testing purposes I wanted to keep it small first - also that’s why I created it with the loop instead of placing the objects by hand, so that I can scale it more easily later on.

So my next thought was to track the coordinates of the instances of those gem-instances, so if I drag one of the gems over another it locks in to it’s new spot and the other gem jumps to the now empty spot of the gem a dragged. And of course I need to do the checks for matches after that, but first I want to get the basic movements to work.

My problem is I don’t know how to track the coordinates and I also if I had that problem solved I don’t know how to move the other instance away by coordinates. I hope everything I wrote is understandable - English isn’t my first language.

Also is there a list somewhere where I can see all the available commands of Gdevelop (maybe even with a quick example)? For example the ‘GlobalVariableChildCount()’-command - I only discovered that by accident in a Youtube-Tutorial.

P.S: If it helps I can upload the game files, too, but it’s not much content in it yet.

That’s how it looks at the moment. I could only upload one image in the first post.

Try the expressions reference page of the GDevelop wiki