Need help understanding Firebase functionalities in GDevelop

Hi there,

I’m reaching out because I’m new to Firebase integration, particularly within GDevelop, and I’m struggling to grasp some of its features. Currently, I’m facing an issue where I need to change a “Field” of a “Document” with a numerical variable. However, I’ve noticed that the Firebase integration in GDevelop only accepts string variables for the Firebase Database.

Could you please provide some guidance or resources on how to handle numerical variables in Firebase within the GDevelop environment? Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your assistance.

Firebase is actually used to store an account and more stuff to your game.Also for mainly login and create account options for games.But for that u need to go to firebase app create a new project and copy that projects link and put in gdevelops firebase place in order for it to work.You go on web in firebase which is like like </> then register your app with nickname and copy a part of the code.

This one and then paste it on the gdevelop place in prperties

Or just go to this place to understand better
https://wiki.gdevelop.io/gdevelop5/all-features/firebase/quickstart/

1 Like

Thank you, but I already did that step, now i am trying to store a Num Var to the database, i know how to store it but for some reason at field action i can only store a String var and not a Num/Boolean etc.
So i am searching other ways to do it

You can just use the gdevelop storage feature to store a num var

Hi @Kruger,

I believe this is possible with javascript, though I don’t know how. But you can store your variables as strings and convert them back with a simple events.

For numbers:

• Store the variable using this expression: ToString(Variable(num_var))
  • When getting the field, convert the callback variable and store it in your number variable: ToNumber(VariableString(callback))