Question about looping, sorry if its a dumb question, new guy over here

I have a question and it is probably easy for you guys to answer as I am very new to gdevelop. I am trying to build a circuit simulator with a friend familiar with javascript. I have already done the drag-and-drop stuff with a lightbulb and a battery to be placed on the grid. My question is how would I be able to check if it is an open or closed circuit.

I have asked some people and they mentioned implementing recursive or looping algorithms. I’m not too sure about how to do this, was wondering if someone can help me out or help me find an easier way to do the same task.

I can give further clarification of what I need help with if needed.

@GESHY47 Hi. Without knowing your implementation or your requirements, I can only comment on how I would do it without having vast electrical knowledge, so apologies if there are any inaccuracies in my terminology.

Considering that computers work with binary data because of how electrical currents are handled (0: no electricity, 1:electricity) and given how computer information is used as a representation, and not an exact copy of reality, you can consider creating a boolean expression with a variable that holds integer values in order to represent the state of the circuit.

So if electricity is applied, i.e the circuit is closed, assign the boolean variable a value of 1, otherwise assign it a value of 0 to represent the circuit is open. Once you do this then all your other code will depend on this variable. It would be basically a logic gate. I would call the variable is_closed, as if asking a question and if you only manage a single circuit it could be a global variable, or if you have different circuit cases in different scenes use a Scene varaible.

You don’t need to really create a complex system to check if it’s open or closed, since you can consistently assume from knowledge and observation that a circuit can only assume these two states.