[Resolved] Remove the "Play Music" Actions

So, I been looking around the forum, and I see a lot of Don’t use the play music action, use play sound", and I remember hearing that it is buggy or something and that is why it shouldn’t be used. Well I think it would be good to remove those actions completely as to avoid confusion for new users, as I also ran into that when I was a noob. And, if there would be a problem of ruining some existing projects, you could automatically switch it to play sound when the game file is loaded with a new version.

Thanks,
Inusitatus

Some time ago, there was information on the wiki itself that the actions to play music should not be used in new projects, but the actions to play sounds. But it’s been a while since wiki updated and that information disappeared: Audio - GDevelop documentation

So… Does “Play Music” no longer have a bug or did they just forget to put that information in after the wiki update? (or maybe I’m not looking in the right place :eyes:).

Yeah, I’m confused. Should I use that for music? Or should I use play music for sounds?

It’s not that play music has a bug, they are just using different backends and most people will prefer the tradeoffs made by the sound actions.

Advantages of the music actions:

• It uses streaming when playing the audio file, so if you have a large audio file that you want to play on a low performance device you can do so without taking too much RAM, and can start playing as soon as the first chunks of the file start to load
  • It is older, technically more widely supported

Advantages of the sound actions:

• Requires completely preloading a sound in memory before playing, thus it is guaranteed to play fully without pauses or distortions
  • The backend is compatible with a post processing pipeline that allows to for example use the positional sound extension