Saving when game closed and reopened

im having issues making my game save highscore and currency when i close the app and open it again, it saves and updates everytime i play the game but as soon as i quit game everything is set to 0 again.
p.s sorry im very new to using gdevelop!

if someone could tell me what im doing wrong or whats missing, i can’t get my head around how the storage system works

For reasons I don’t understand, you cannot use storage directly into a Global Variable.

Storage can only be loaded into a Scene Variable, so your 2 “GlobalVariable()” calls will not work.

What you’ll need to do is store them in a Scene Variable, then have a SEPARATE event that then takes that scene variable data and stores it in a Global Variable.

ok apologies in advance i understand this but am having trouble figure out how to execute this now :sweat_smile:
so the first screenshot was events from my main menu, i’m now struggling to figure out how to take the information that would be saved in the scene and display it on the main menu.

also would the code from the first screenshot just be moved to the scene where the score is counted?
again sorry im very new and trying my best to learn

No worries at all. Took me a bit to grasp how to use the storage actions as well.

I would actually say your events should be fine, as long as your “currency” variables are getting updated appropriately elsewhere.

Whenever you’re going to do “loading”, whether that be at the start of the game or after pressing a “Load” button, you just need to have your 2 storage events you have now, but have them store the info in a Scene Variable.

Then add 2 events that basically do “Set Global Variable “Currency” = SceneVariableNamehere”, as well as “Set Global Variable “highscore” = SceneVariableNamehere”. This will allow you to load your data into the scene variables, then load the scene variables into the Global Variables.