SIM : Get a single random NPC to go to one of several "destination" objects

Hello, I’m new to Gdev AND I realise that even without needing code, it’s far from easy to understand how to do what I would consider simple things.

Big fan of management sims, I’m trying to give commands to npcs. There are a lot of tutorials around a main character you move around, that interact with enemies, objects, etc, but I haven’t found much in terms of giving behaviour to NPCs.

Let me show you the absolutely ugly sketch I drew to try things:

I have here three characters. Two destination spots on the right.

What am I looking to do:

• Select one random character IF a destination is unoccupied
  • Get that random character (and only that character) to move its angular bottom to one of the two destination points.
  • Meanwhile, since the other spot is free, another character goes to that one.
  • After a few seconds, the characters leave their new spot (where doesn’t really matter at this point), leaving the destination points free again for new ‘customers’.

It’s pretty basic, imagine a tavern, free seats, unique characters come at random, sit, order, leave, etc.

My journey on GD:

• First of all, I SUCK at it.
  • One major problem I found, amongst others, is that as the event sheet repeats its commands every frame (as I understand it…?), then even If I managed to select a random chara to go to the destination with a variable I called ‘Empty: true’, the event will run again, finding another random, resulting in what is actually a funny run towards the destination point.
  • I don’t know how to do : Take a random guy on the left, in that starting box and only this guy you picked will go towards an empty destination point and even as he’s on its way, so hasn’t collided yet, nobody else will attempt to steal its spot.