[Solved] 8-Bit Bitmasking with Corner Tiles

Hello friends, I need help

I am trying to create Tile Bitmasking. link

before ====>after

• I have created an 8bit detector that works well for one tile. MatrixDetector
  • MatrixDetector detects 8 tiles around and accordingly generates a frame number that changes the given tile at the x,y position

I have these issues

1. After starting, I want to change each island tile using MatrixDetector, but it doesn’t work.

2. Adding an island works correctly, it changes the tile according to the surrounding tiles / but when I want to call the MatrixDetector function on 8 surrounding tiles, it does not work

I am sending zip file game-island

I’ve tried everything, but I can’t apply it to all tiles.

island1

I’m very new to tilemapping, so take this with a grain of salt. But I believe your issue will be related more to the program you’re using for making your tilemap than to GDevelop… Having said that, I’m sure there are still people here who can probably help you.

What program are you using for tilemapping?

he did everything in Gdevelop btw. :wink:

Hi there!

You’re on the rigth track for the Corner tiles!

Well done so far! There were a lot of demands for something like that to be implemented into Gdevelop, so it’s pretty impressive how far you already got!

First a few improvements for your Gdevelop script:

When creating new events you added a “Trigger Once” in the conditions. You should to remove that, otherwise you cannot keep building tiles by dragging the mouse quickly. Since you already check in the condition if there isn’t already a tile on the position, you will already build only one tile per spot. If you want to be able to build one tile per click, I’d use the mouse button release condition instead. Or set a boolean variable, and toggle it on mouse button press and release, to build only one tile per press.