[Solved] Object not visible

The mystery of the object that isn’t (Except for when it is)

Hi there!

I’m working on a group project at uni.
This is our first time ever using gdevelop and our project is wildly ambitious since we’re all technically year 0 (Like, the introduction for people with very little experience to prepare them for actual university)

Anyway, we have this bug with objects not being visible when put on a layer above a lighting layer. I wish I could show more here but I’m basically managing the art side of the project and I’ve had very little input on the code.
I apologise for this image, originally I had them all seperate but being new to the forums I can only have 1!
(I’m an artist, I swear)

1. This is the room. For this example I’m looking at the hint in the bottom right. The one the arrow (player) is facing:
  2. Here are the object properties
  3. Layers
  4. In game (Lack of object)
  5. The debugger insisting that the object is visible
  6. The hint object when moved to the base layer
  7. All mentions of the word ‘Hint’ in the code through ctrl-f
    I deleted any reference to hint1 so it was completely unaffected by anything just to play with it.

I would super appreciate any ideas for what is wrong here. As i said before, I’ve just been doing the art up to this point and though I kind of understand the code I didn’t write any of it.

Thanks!

Hey! On the picture no.2 it’s says its on the base layer, there might be your problem. Otherwise I’m out of ideas.

Maybe it’s just not a great idea to use a slash character in a layer name…

Oop, that was a mistake when i retook the screenshots. Good spot though!

Good point. I’ll mention that to my group.
Taking out the / didn’t fix it though sadly.

The debugger shows the object is visible, but is the Hint layer itself visible? What does the debugger indicate?

1 Like

I thought you might be onto something because I hadn’t thought to check layers
Looks like it should be there though.