Swiping Movement Game

Hi All,

I am trying to create a mobile game that uses swiping for movement as you move through a maze. I have tried virtually everything that I could find and could think of over the last few days. The game should have a similar movement style to a typical colour maze game, colliding with walls and stoping etc. If anyone has any suggestions or is able to help, I would be more than thankful.

Thanks

Can you provide screen shot of the swipe events? Or are you using the swipe gesture extension?

Apologies as I am very new to GDevelop. I have tinkered with all sorts through the last few days and have gone back to square one. I currently have no events set up as I now don’t really know where to start. All I have is a very basic level set up and an event to place the character (blue square) on the starting block.

UPDATE:

I managed to get movement with PixelPerfectMovement. I have new issues with non reliable and constant movement, and also I am still struggling to implement the swipe gestures I have tried to use the pre-made events in the swipe gesture extension. These are my events;

Don’t copy the events from the swipe extension. They will have condition and actions specific to functions, like GetArgumentAsString() and Set return value.

Instead, use the swipe extension like this (change the 10 to alter the touch sensitivity):

Thanks for your help, I have managed to implement the swiping controls. I still have a few questions if you wouldn’t mind helping me? First of all there are a few oddities when moving around such as the character being stuck in certain places and pushed round in others, and it feels like at times it won’t move then it will suddenly move for some reason. These are my updated events;

This is the link for the game at current if you would like to see the issues for yourself: https://gd.games/oliversbee/up-runner