Trying to follow tutorial, scene variable issues

Before proceeding, please use the forum search feature at the top of the page to check if your question has already been answered.

Hi, I’m new here.

I am trying to follow the very first video tutorial, specifically the one titled ‘Beginner’s Guide To GDevelop - The No Code Open Source Game Engine’.

At 2:31 in the video, the video tutor creates a Score text object. If I understand the tutorial correctly, it’s just a normal text object.

Then at 4:04, they’re introducing the scoring mechanics via the scene Events tab.

They use the action of ‘Change the scene variable’.

I do not understand how I am supposed to do this.

I understand the logic behind what I’m supposed to do, but not how to find the command/action itself.

I have searched the in-app help, did a web search, and then searched the forums here, all to no avail.

===================
Something else also confuses me about this.

I’m new to GDev and I don’t have much experience with it yet, but the tutorial appears to use a numeric function on a string/text variable.

That seems odd to me, so I tried replicating that and the program wouldn’t let me.

Assuming it’s not related to the ‘I can’t find change scene variable action’ issue, what am I missing here?

Click on the “Add action”, select the “Other actions” tab, expand Variables, expand “Scene variables”. Since it’s the score you want to change, you’ll want the “Change number variable” option.

Some languages have what’s called strongly typed variables. That means when a variable is declared as a number, string or another type, it can only be used as that.

GDevelop is weakly typed, which means you can declare a variable as a certain type, but if it’s contents satisfy another type, you can use it as that too.