Why is this parameter in a function (to reference a variable) not working?

Why is this parameter in a function (to reference a variable) not working?

I’ve got quite a few variables that start at 0 and may need to be added to - Bet1, Bet2, Bet3, etc.

I’m trying to make a fairly simple function to call to add to that variable by passing in the name of it as a parameter (as well as one other parameter to use as a maximum value.)

It’s not working when I use the parameter name and I’m not sure why. I’m sure I’m just doing something stupid, but I’m not sure what.

Here’s how I’m calling it:

aaacallingfunc

Here’s the function: (I realize I’m trying to do the same thing twice as pictured, but I’m just trying to show a comparison of what works and what doesn’t in the screenshot.)

My apologies if I’m missing something obvious, I’m pretty new to Gdevelop here but I’m especially confused since this seemed to work just fine with a different project and pretty much everything else the same (other than the variables.) Comparing the two I can’t see what’s going wrong.

Any help/suggestions much appreciated!

What are you trying to achieve here?

Not exactly sure what you mean, in a nutshell I’m trying to pass along the name of a variable to a function as a parameter, and have that variables valued changed within that function.

I call a function and pass in the parameter ‘Bet1’ - and the scene variable ‘Bet1’ increments.

If you mean the grand scheme of things, it’s for a roulette thing I’m working on - and there’s 60+ betting spots someone can click on. Using a function seemed more appropriate than adding basically the same code to 60 different buttons, especially if I have to make changes/additions.

Check if “BettingSpot” a string or something
Also, can you show the whole code in the function
and also the use of BettingSpot

To simplify a made a new project with just the issue I’m having. Here’s the whole thing: