Different teams, same object

I’m a beginner and I’m trying to design an autobattler game where both teams use identical units. The number of teams and the units each team uses can vary. My goal is to use a single unit object and modify its sprite and behavior based on its variables.

The challenge I’m facing is getting a unit to target another unit of the same type, but on a different team. I understand how to direct one object to another if they’re different, as I can just apply force from one to the other. However, I’m unsure how to do this when the objects are of the same type. Can anyone guide me on this?

I feel using 2 objects would be easier to handle logic for (one for player and the other for enemy)

However if you’re fully sticking to a single object, then I would suggest using object variables.

In the below example the objects have a type and ID variable with some basic logic to target a random enemy from the player.

Hello Eiklahc, thanks for taking your time to help.

What you’ve told me isn’t exactly what I’m looking for and I can’t tailor your answer to my need, let me try to explain better.

I’ll be having several teams in the autobattler, depending on the stage it can go from 2 teams to 16 teams, I’m not sure if using a scene variable the way you told me is going to work for what I want to do, since I wouldn’t be having a single target each time, but several targets, for all the teams.

Initially, I considered assigning a variable to each object to identify its target. However, I’m unclear on how to reference a second instance of the same object while executing a “Repeat for each instance of unit_object”.

This is what I want, but with many units inside many teams.
Teams

An instance variable will still work. Use a number instead of a string to uniquely identify each team, and search for objects with an identifier that is not the same as the player’s team.