How to add children to structure variable via action?

How to add children to structure variable via action?

[EDIT - see my last comment where I managed to create children in structure variable via actions]

Hi, a newbie here. The end goal is to be able to compare 2 lists and validate whether the player chose right ingredients as per recipe (compare given list vs dynamically generated list based on player’s decisions).

1. There is a recipe with list of ingredients: variable called “RequiredIngredients” with Structure data type. This list will be compared with the list of ingredients that the player picked.

2. 2nd variable is called SelectedIngredients also with Structure data type (because I dont want to be limited by the order like in Array - the player can pick ingredients in random order).

Now, I want SelectedIngredients list to be populated when the player selects an ingredient (e.g. onions). I am trying to find a way to put in action to create a child in that structure variable (e.g. add child called “onions”).

However, I cant seem to find any options to add children, append, add or modify the SelectedIngredients variable structure. I am able to add text but the action changes the SelectedIngredients variable into Array.

Below screenshot (RequiredIngredients I called it here = “Pepper Onions Pizza Recipe”)

Thanks for any guidance.

I have a similar problem, but your topic wasn’t suggested when I posted mine.

How do I allow the player to create entire new variables - How do I…? - GDevelop Forum

No answers yet, here, either.

You don’t need any special way to add a structure variable. You just set it’s value to a number, string or boolean. Unlike an array, you can’t just add the item it needs a value.

It helps to have the structure setup in the respective variable screen. You need to at least have the variable name setup as a structure.

Here’s an example with 2 buttons and a sprite.
Click the one to add or set/change the value.