Performance nightmare ... a small but helpful story (you can share yours too) :)

The last 2 weeks were probably the hardest and the most annoying in my upcoming game
“Miko Adventures:puffball” … Here is the full devlog if you haven’t already saw it: Miko Adventures: Puffball devlog 😮 - #70 by CorianderGames
A month ago I started drawing the basics of the biggest level probably in the whole game, And after the drawing process in PS I decided it’s time to add the level into the engine and oh boy … A nightmare stared … performance was … look … I won’t say terrible but bad … it had this micro stutter that was consistent and didn’t go away so I decided cool let’s get back to PS And slice the picture even more to smaller picture … here’s how it went…
The level was more than (13000 x 12000 px) … yeah big I know!
So I started cutting the image into 4x4 (16 pictures) but didn’t’ work … 5x5 (didn’t work)
then 6x6 - 7x7 - 8x8 - 9x9 - 10x10 - etc…
Nothing worked (after over 8 days no sleep - food or anything) I was weak tired and scared about the game and what I’m going to do … I felt awful because I thought at the moment I wouldn’t be able to make it work and this means that the whole game is at risk … I slept (broken inside) …
The next day I woke up and I decided to do the impossible … which is cutting the image even more (to 32x32) which means I had to go through 1024 pictures … yes it’s painful :cry:
I didn’t even know if it will work or not and I decided to do it … I mean nothing was working so I might as well just try it and see who knows …
after 6 hours of adding pictures into parts … each with separate animations … numbers … lot’s of them … objects … hundreds … my eyes watering and dry … red … my fingers are going to stop working.
I open the game and BOOM!
It worked :heart:
I made gdevelop run probably the biggest level to be ever made in the engine (98% work fine with so little to no lag)…